The Noise of a Fly

Douglas Dunn
Hardback, Faber & Faber, 9780571333813, £14.99
by SRB

Douglas Dunn shortlisted for 25th Anniversary T.S. Eliot Prize

October 19, 2017 | by SRB

Scottish poet Douglas Dunn joins the shortlist for the 25th Anniversary T.S. Eliot Prize. To mark the 25th anniversary, the T. S. Eliot Foundation has increased the winner’s prize money to £25,000.

Judges Bill Herbert (Chair), James Lasdun and Helen Mort have chosen the shortlist from a record 154 poetry collections submitted by publishers:

Tara Bergin- The Tragic Death of Eleanor Marx, Carcanet
Caroline Bird- In these Days of Prohibition, Carcanet
Douglas Dunn-The Noise of a Fly, Faber & Faber
Leontia Flynn-The Radio, Cape Poetry
Roddy Lumsden- So Glad I’m Me, Bloodaxe
Michael Symmons Roberts- Mancunia, Cape Poetry
Robert Minhinnick- Diary of the Last Man, Carcanet
James Sheard- The Abandoned Settlements, Cape Poetry
Jacqueline Saphra- All My Mad Mothers, Nine Arches Press
Ocean Vuong- Night Sky with Exit Wounds, Cape Poetry


Chair Bill Herbert said:

“This was a very strong year, and it was a privilege to read so many books that possessed as well as intrigued us; our shortlist explores grief, pleasure, place and history in a formidable variety of ways.” 

The T. S. Eliot Prize is run by The T. S. Eliot Foundation. It is the richest prize in British poetry, with the winning poet receiving a cheque for £25,000 and the shortlisted poets each receiving £1,500.

The T. S. Eliot Prize Shortlist Readings will take place on Sunday 14th January 2018 in the Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall. The shortlist readings are the largest annual poetry event in the UK and will be hosted once again by Ian McMillan. Tickets are now on sale from Southbank Centre’s ticket office on 0203 879 9555 or via

The winner of the 2017 Prize will be announced at the Award Ceremony on Monday 15th January 2018, where the winner and the shortlisted poets will be presented with their cheques. This continues the tradition started by Mrs Valerie Eliot, who provided the prize money from the inception of the Prize.

You can read Brian Morton’s excellent review of The Noise of a Fly here.

You can read the 2009 SRB interview with Douglas Dunn here.




Blog / Discussion