by SRB

Saltire Society Literary Awards

November 27, 2015 | by SRB

Michel Faber has been named as the winner of the Saltire Society Book of the Year award, 2015.

The writer, who has been based in Scotland since 1993, won the prize for The Book of Strange New Things. Faber previously won the Saltire First Book of the Year award in 2000 for his debut novel Under The Skin.

Commenting on his win, Faber said: “When I emigrated from Australia to a remote part of Scotland in 1993, I never expected that it would be the beginning rather than the end of my literary career.

“I’m so moved and grateful that this honour has been bestowed on my work. You’ve made an alien feel very welcome.”

The Saltire Society Literary Awards celebrate “literary and academic excellence” across seven categories, with the winners of individual book categories going forward to be considered for the Saltire Book of the Year award.

The Book of Strange New Things has also won the 2015 Saltire Society Scottish Fiction Book of the Year, beating competition from a shortlist that included the latest works from Irvine Welsh, Kate Atkinson and Gaelic language writer Norma Nicleoid.

The winners in other categories were:

  • Scottish Research Book of the Year – Clubbing Together: Ethnicity, Civility and Formal Sociability in the Scottish Diaspora to 1930 by Dr Tanja Bueltmann
  • Scottish History Book of the Year – A Chasm in Time: Scottish War Art and Artists in the Twentieth Century by Dr Patricia R. Andrew
  • Scottish Poetry Book of the Year Award – The Good Dark by Ryan Van Winkle
  • Scottish First Book of the Year Award – On the Edges of Vision by Helen McClory
  • Scottish Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award – Adventures in Human Being by Gavin Francis
  • The Saltire Society Publisher of the Year Award – Freight Booksfreight-books-logo-large

Blog / Discussion

Posts Remaining